Location of protected areas

Release date 06/22/2006
Contributor Bob Konzi Sarambo


Protected areas in the Central African Republic cover approximately 70,000 km² (1999), or 11% of the total area of ​​the country. The majority of them are located in the zone of hunting interest which currently extends over the North-East and South-West parts of the national territory.


Image removed.

Several types of protected areas can be defined from the map drawn up by Yves BOULVERT in 1985 and that drawn up by Jean-Paul THOMASSEL in 1998. Each of these types of environment corresponds to specific plant and animal communities. From the North-East to the South-West of the country, we can distinguish:

  •   4 national parks: 1.André-Félix; 2.Manovo-Gounda Saint Floris; 3 Bamingui-Bangoran; 4.Zdanga-Ndoki
  •   1 presidential park;
  •   1 biosphere reserve;
  •   2 integral nature reserves;
  •   7 wildlife reserves;
  •   2 special reserves; and
  •   hunting sectors leased to safari companies.

One could also cite in these categories the hunting sectors leased to safari companies, of which there are 73.